During construction, electricians are responsible for installing, inspecting and testing electrical equipment to ensure it’s working safely and properly. Due to the technical expertise required and the risk involved, electricians require significant training and must adhere to strict standards. Continue reading to learn about the different paths you can follow to become an approved electrician.

Book A Call

What Is An Approved Electrician?

An approved electrician is one who meets all the requirements set out by the Joint Industry Board (JIB). An electrician must meet a number of criteria to be designated as an Approved Electrician by the JIB. This includes finishing an accredited apprenticeship or having comparable qualifications and working as an electrician for at least two years after completing their initial training.

How To Become A JIB Approved Electrician

1. Complete an apprenticeship in electrical installation

Most electrical apprenticeships last around four years. Those who go down the apprenticeship route will undertake on-the-job training with their employer but will also have to submit a portfolio of work to their education provider.

The major advantages of an apprenticeship are:

• You can earn while you study
• The training is partially or totally financed by the government (the company you work for is rewarded financially for hiring you)
• Your learning is spaced out and interwoven with your employment

2. Gain A Level 3 Diploma, Such As The Electrotechnical Craft (2365) Certification

This is an industry-recognised certification from the City & Guilds, making it a practical path to becoming an approved electrician – be it as an employee of an electrical firm or as a self-employed electrician. 

This Level 3 Diploma provides you with the skills and information you’ll need to work as an electrician in a variety of settings, including residential, rural, commercial, and industrial.

3. Demonstrate Competence In Testing And Inspection

To become an approved electrician, you also require a Level 3 qualification in testing and inspection. For example, the EAL Level 3 Award in Electrical Installation Inspection, Testing, Certification and Reporting. This qualification combines two existing EAL initial verification/periodic inspection and reporting qualifications for both three-phase and single electrical installations.

Contact King Contract Services today if you’re a site/installation manager in construction and are looking for more information on approved electrician requirements.

Image source: Unsplash